Down memory lane and I’m like wow! The level of imagination was just amazing. I kinda wonder who invented kids because they’re so brilliant, adults are but kids with money so you understand what I’m saying. We did yearn to grow up, to experience what it felt like to be called an adult but that did not prevent us from being one, in imaginary world. Growth took place and In no time childhood dreams were intertwined with new worries and perhaps reality comes in. Despite this, some wishes still remain universal and applies to most kids if not all.
I want to be strong like father and kind like mother.
They talk of gender equity each time I spot the news but let’s face the facts, woman will always be women and men will always be men. No level of equilibrium will be achieved, I need not scientific proof, trust me, so as we grew up, the father figure was the strength of the house, lucky for those who had fathers. It is he who built chickens’ pen in the backyard, loaded those heavy stuff to a safer distance for mama and struck the cane when it was necessary for us to be straightened to the right direction. Mama also used to receive hers, when dad saw it appropriate to counter any threats, which wasn’t bad. What was left for us boys was to admire what father was and we swore to the heaves to pull a better version when the time comes. Mama stood out for her kindness. Picture this, she was the one who reported us to father for any misbehavior but she would plead with father to make the punishment lighter when the screams became loud. Mother was always the one to entertain visitors with delicacies and I saw her quite often visit a children’s home nearby with other chama members. I guess being a catholic made my perspective more clear given in mind the kindness of mother Mary. A promise arose, to fuse mothers’ kindness in dad’s amazing figure when I grow up. I guess it was different for sister. She was more inclined to mother and i could only imagine her pulling a replica of mother.
Image
To reach where they did not.
Father and mother did their best to provide for us but that did not prevent us seeing the loopholes that existed given in mind we had classmates in school who were much better off. We were familiar with all the footpaths as they were being driven and we had to work out what to do as they enjoyed their snacks during break times. Funny thing, this did nothing to the love we had to our parents but brought the desire to take from where our parents had reached to greater levels. Setbacks came in, and some of us lost the way but those of us who made it are to day evaluating if we have beat this or are in the journey. I cannot tell the wishes of those kids who were on the other side, their parents had reached greater heights so I guess for them it was all about maintaining it, which for me I think it was tricky for them that’s why I appreciated where my parents were because it gave me an opportunity to prove that I can pull ends stronger. Meanwhile, WHEN I GROW UP…….
